The Ambient Light in your Studio

Jane Gardner
5 min readJun 25, 2023

How to analyze the ambient light

what is the light that fills your room?

Welcome, welcome. This is Jane Gardner, and welcome to step in front of the camera series. Today we’re going to be talking about ambient light. So what is ambient light? Well, it’s basically all the light that fills your room when you don’t have any lights on. Now, I do have lights on because you wouldn’t be able to see me at all, but I just want to show you.

Well know if I’ll show you the difference. Well, I guess I will. I guess I could. I don’t like to have close ups when I move close to the camera. But anyway, you may not notice difference between ambient light and the light that’s directly from your lamps and lights, but you can actually see quite a bit of ambient light and so it’s always present in your room.

Now, right now it’s sunny down here in the basement with the windows. It’s just coming in and the cats are enjoying it. And that’s why I’ve got some light on one side of my face and shadows on the other. Well, once the clouds cover over the sun, I’m sure I won’t have any light on either side of my face.

--

--

Jane Gardner

TV Producer, Video Mentor, Finding your Purpose TV, Ultimate TV Channel System creator, all about producing your show at https://ultimatetvchannelsystem.com